DEADPOOL review

Directed by Tim Miller
Written by Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick
Produced by Simon Kinberg, Stan Lee, Rhett Reese, Ryan Reynolds, Lauren Shuler Donner & Paul Wernick
Music by Junkie XL
Starring Ryan Reynolds, Morena Baccarin, T.J. Miller, Stefan Kapicic, Brianna Hildebrand, Ed Skrein, Gina Carano & Stan Lee
UK release date: 10th/12th February 2016
Synopsis: A different kind of Marvel origin story being centred on Wade Wilson, a former special forces operative turned mercenary, who subjects himself to a mysterious experiment after being made the promise that it will cure his cancer he’s suddenly been diagnosed with and transform him into a ‘superhero’. Instead it leaves him physically disfigured but immortal with accelerated healing powers, becoming the alter ego, DEADPOOL, with a burning rage to turn the people responsible into f***ing kebabs…

From the genius opening title sequence, which is undeniably the greatest credits sequence I’ve been a spectator to in a film since 22 Jump Street, should be a clear indication that you’re about to experience a Marvel film quite like no other before it. The fact that the BBFC have classified it with a 15 rating certificate, and with the amazing marketing leading up to its general release anything to go by, this definitely is no family friendly picture; giving you a clear idea what to expect from this. 
I’ll start off by putting both my hands in the air and shamefully admitting that I’m not the most devoted of Marvel Comics fans that I would love to be, I mean I grew up watching Saturday morning TV Marvel cartoons from the 90s like Spider-Man and X-Men and I’ve watched pretty much all the big screen films from both 20th Century Fox and Marvel Studios up until this point, but sadly I’ve never really read much of the comics from my childhood, this is something I’m only just starting to do now in my adulthood. So the only reference I really had to go by where the character of Wade Wilson / Deadpool was concerned, was his appearance in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, which isn’t really saying a great deal as we all know how dreadfully terrible that turned out. However, with the very limited knowledge I have for ‘The Merc With a Mouth’, also played here by Ryan Reynolds in the shockingly bad, already mentioned Wolverine movie; I’m more than aware it gave the titular anti-hero an incredible disservice, clearly making the cult following of fans none too happy. With Reynolds, who obviously has a lot of love and appreciation for Deadpool as a fan, makes it his passion project in life to give the other devoted fans a more accurate portrayal that they’ve so been longing for. Fast forward six or seven years later and here we finally have it, how the comic book character was meant to be seen.
I was a little bit sceptical and unsure of seeing this at first, what with 20th Century Fox not having the greatest track record as of late in backing and releasing Marvel films that are less than well received, springing to mind last year’s atrocious reboot of The Fantastic Four and the diabolical Amazing Spider-Man 2 a year before that. My excitement is very much reserved for every cinema release that has been firmly grounded within the MCU only. But saying that, I feel like I’m the only one in a minority whom was left feeling deeply disappointed with ‘Ant-Man’ – the latest MCU effort to date from Marvel Studios that had just about as much background history making its journey towards the big screen as Deadpool does. It comes as a surprise then unto one’s self that this movie was everything that I so desperately wanted Ant-Man to be. Maybe its because my expectations for Ant-man were just a little too high and maybe I shouldn’t be too hasty in not wanting to give it a second go, but as it stands right now I strongly feel that its one of the most weakest efforts in the MCU. 
Deadpool has proven itself to be an absolute onslaught offering bucketfuls of blood, mayhem, flying bullets, loss of human limbs, crude sexual humour, and just, well, basically cramming itself full to the brim of so many film and popular culture references that gets flying at you thick and fast every two minutes, that it makes it so easy for you to miss some as you sit there in your aisle seat in an uncontrollable crying fit of laughter. I feel the film slightly lets itself down somewhat with a pretty generic storyline that we’ve all seen before and with villains that are not particularly strong nor very memorable. But these are really small nitpicks that hardly get in the way of the enormous level of fun and enjoyment you’ll have with this. The film also belongs to Reynolds, its his movie completely through and through, there’s simply no question that this is a role that only he was born to play. The main thing I think you’ll love the most out of this is Deadpool’s continuous breaking of the fourth wall with audiences; never have I seen it done more elegantly in a film than I have here. If this is to be the start of a trilogy, I can’t wait to see what happens next.
Rating: ★ 1/2


Leave a Reply

