My #Shocktober film challenge list for Halloween 2016

That time of year again where we get out the pumpkins and dress up as our favourite horror film icons. Its also the third time I’m attempting to get through the challenge all the way until to the finishing line, having spectacularly failed the two years previously. I keep telling myself that I will follow through until to the very end and this time I MEAN it!

Instead of completely repeating the films that were on my list last year, I’m going to take just the second half (the films that I didn’t get around to watching last year) and combine them with some yet unseen horrors currently streaming on Netflix as well as a few more additions from my collection.

Again, I’m going to mix up some recent ones with old classic ones. Some I haven’t seen for a long time, some I keep going back to again and again and others that I’m completely new to.

Here’s my list for this year:

  1. KILL LIST (The first film by Ben Wheatley I saw. Immediately made me a fan of his work)
  2.  ASSAULT ON PRECINCT 13 (The 1976 Carpenter original. I like to think it was the ONLY version!)
  3. RING (1998 – Because Japan always do horrors best. Always.)
  4. AUDITION (You’ll think twice about going out on a first date with a seemingly ‘sweet’ girl after seeing this!)
  5. THE HOST (Clearly the 2006 Korean monster movie and not that other piece of nonsense that bares the same name!)
  6. THE SKIN I LIVE IN (One of the most fucked up films I’ve ever seen. Naturally, I thought it was a masterpiece.)
  7. RED STATE
  8. THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE
  9. AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON
  10. 30 DAYS OF NIGHT
  11. TRIANGLE (A gruesome, gory Groundhog Day-esque story set on a luxury cruise liner)
  12. INVASION OF THE BODYSNATCHERS (1978 remake. The original is also brilliant but I prefer the remake so much more.)
  13. REPULSION
  14. SLEEPY HOLLOW
  15. BLUE VELVET
  16. ERASERHEAD (David Lynch’s first feature and its absolutely HORRIFYING)
  17. PAN’S LABYRINTH
  18. MONSTERS
  19. PLAY MISTY TO ME (Clint Eastwood’s directorial debut that lent itself as the main inspiration to Fatal Attraction)
  20. WILD TALES
  21. THE WITCHES OF EASTWICK (Can you think of any other actor better than Jack Nicholson to play the prince of darkness? I know I can’t)
  22. THE MUMMY (The 1932 Boris Karloff original)
  23. HUSH
  24. WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS
  25. LOST RIVER
  26. EVENT HORIZON
  27. TROLL HUNTER
  28. THE BAY
  29. RE-ANIMATOR
  30. VAMPIRE IN BROOKLYN
  31. DAYBREAKERS

 

horror-icons-halloween

Leave a Reply

