The Movie Nerd’s Most Anticipated Top 10 Films of 2017 (Part 2)

Welcome back readers to my second part of my top 10 anticipated films of the year. I always like saving the best until last so these last five films are the ones that I’m truly gearing myself up towards. That’s not to say I’m not looking forward as much to the other 5 already mentioned in my previous post, otherwise it wouldn’t so much be a top 10. Its just that these ones have much more buzz surrounding them and are reboots/sequels to already much loved existing films. Hope you enjoy reading them and feel free to write in the comment section if you agree or not with my list.

 

5. KONG: SKULL ISLAND

kong-skull-island-poster-2

Another film featuring naive and stupid humans bothering and causing aggro to ape leading to more bloodshed, destruction and danger. In this case though, its one big fucking ape pitted against a dozen human soldiers. Kong: Skull Island is a complete rehash/reboot/remake/insert name here so in case any of you guys were wondering and got confused whether or not this serves as a prequel/sequel to Peter Jackson’s 2005 remake, it doesn’t. After making up my mind some time ago that Jackson’s King Kong is literally one of the best films I’ve watched in the 21st Century so far (bold statement, I know), I don’t have any big expectations that this will in no way surpass it but I’m still feeling pretty optimistic that it will do well both critically and commercially.

The reason they’re starting over again with Kong is because if the rumour mill is anything to go by and depending on how much success this film achieves with those box office numbers, we should be seeing some future King Kong Vs Godzilla future instalments coming our way.

I have to say, I was pretty disappointed with the latest trailer that featured a lot of John C. Reilly and the inhabitants of the island whom worship Kong as their God. I felt it was slightly ruined by being bogged down by too much unnecessary comedy. I’m not saying that it can’t have some comical fun but when it was too much like it was in the latest trailer, it kinda gives this new Kong film an uneven tone. However, I will still see it no matter what because I can never say no to a monster movie. I also approve of its cast that includes Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson and John Goodman. Directed by Jordan Vogt-Roberts (The Kings of Summer), I’m still expecting big things from this and to become pretty high on the wow factor.

Kong: Skull Island is released in UK cinemas on March 10th.

 

4. GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL. 2

guardian2poster

Ouga Chaka Ouga Ouga Ouga Chaka… I can’t stop this feeling deep inside of me that Guardians of The Galaxy Vol. 2 may just nab the top spot of being the biggest smash hit of the summer. With the whole gang returning along with director James Gunn, the wait is almost over for its most awaited sequel to the biggest gamble made by Marvel Studios that instantly cemented itself as my favourite Marvel film in the MCU so far. The sequel is undeniably all about Baby Groot as the Guardians face other threats both old and new, all while Peter Quill a.k.a. Star Lord embarks on a quest to uncover the unravelling mysteries of his true parentage, involving being reunited with his long, lost father, played as a talking planet by Kurt Russell. I cannot wait for this film.

Guardians of The Galaxy Vol. 2 is released in UK cinemas on April 28th.

 

3. STAR WARS EPISODE VIII

star-wars-8-poster

The one entry that really needs no introduction. It may not quite be at the number 1 spot for me but there was no way I could not place this so high on my list. Set immediately straight after the events of The Force Awakens, and I mean as in literally seconds, (something that’s never happened before in the Star Wars saga), has certainly made all of us terribly itching to know what happens. More specifically we really want to find out more about the relationship between Luke and Rey and her family history. Its really something when we haven’t even been treated to a single teaser or reveal of its title and yet its the most exciting one to look forward to for many.

As TFA borrowed a lot from A new Hope, I’ve been quietly hoping all this time that episode 8 will share a similar dark and sinister tone to that of The Empire Strikes Back. According to director Rian Johnson though, that’s not quite the case. In an interview with USA Today, he added: “I want it to be a blast and to be funny and to be a ride the way The Force Awakens and the original Star Wars movies were.”

The Force Awakens left so many unanswered questions out in the open after ending on the most frustrating cliffhanger for such an impatient fan like me. With the sad untimely late death of Carrie Fisher, its not going to be easy to watch, considering the role of Leia has been expanded a lot more over the next two episodes apparently. But the primary focus is on Luke Skywalker. We want to know how long he’s been at this Ancient Jedi temple for, what he plans to do next and does he have reluctance to train Rey as his new Jedi apprentice or has he been waiting for her all this time? We’ll have to wait another 11 months to find out all these answers and more. It’ll come around fast before we know it.

Star Wars Episode VIII is released in UK cinemas on December 15th.

 

2. STEPHEN KING’S IT

pennywise-it

Based on the best selling horror novel by the master storyteller himself, IT was the last novel from King I have read so far after converting myself as a lifelong SK fan about over two years ago. With IT being the biggest novel I’ve read from this renowned author, totalling in at a whopping 1,376 pages long, I felt I would struggle with this like I did with The Stand but that was definitely not the case here. Think I liked this story a lot more and was able to really attach myself to all the characters far more deeply.

I’ve never had a fear of clowns like so many others I know do so that didn’t affect me while reading but it still was pretty terrifying. I recently watched the TV made film version that was released in 1990 and all I can say is Tim Curry as Pennywise the clown was the only good thing about it. Everything else made me cringe to high heaven, with a lot of the most important themes being completely stripped away. I have every bit of faith in director Andy Muschietti and leading star Bill Skarsgard that they’ll fix everything that was wrong with the first adaptation and stay as true to the book as much as possible. Again, this new remake will be split in two parts but let’s hope they get it right this time and this epic novel gets the justice it deserves on the big screen.

Stephen King’s IT is released in UK cinemas on September 8th.

 

1. BLADE RUNNER 2049

blade-runner2-image

The long-awaited sequel to the 1982 influential and thought provoking original that some people felt wasn’t needed. Lots of criticism has been made on how the pacing of Blade Runner is just too dull and slow. This writer personally disagrees, dazzling and majestic in its visuals, stunning and grand in its aesthetics; complete with an amazing score from Vangelis and simply breathtaking cinematography by Jordan Cronenweth.

Blade Runner was one of those films that I was just too young to get what was going on when I first saw it as a kid, but as the years went by and I watched it multiple times with adult eyes, I grew to fully understand just how much of a cult masterpiece it has become; one that frighteningly depicts a dark and gloomy future mirroring our own fractured society today.

This time, Ridley Scott passes the directing reins over to critically acclaimed film-maker Denis Villeneuve. If there were any initial doubts about the French-Canadian born director helming the sequel, all of them should be confidently squashed by now after seeing his latest that is Arrival, his first foray into Sci-Fi that is currently taking audiences by storm.

Set 30 years after the original Blade Runner, Harrison Ford reprises his role as Rick Deckard and is joined by an exceptionally interesting cast that includes the likes of Ryan Gosling, Robin Wright, Dave Bautista and Jared Leto. With our first look at its teaser trailer and numerous still images released last month, Blade Runner 2049 has instantly become my most anticipated film of 2017.

Blade Runner 2049 is released in UK cinemas on October 6th.

 

Last but not least here are a few honourable mentions that unfortunately didn’t make it in the final decision of my top 10 for 2017:

 

2 thoughts on “The Movie Nerd’s Most Anticipated Top 10 Films of 2017 (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

